Page 1 of 1

Teeditor (a new standalone map editor)

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2022 2:09 pm
by r2d2!~
Hello everyone! :roll:

A few days ago I released a beta version of the external standalone map editor for Teeworlds:

Image

Features:
  • Program association with .map files (quick map opening without the need to load the game client);
  • Simultaneous editing of several files (tabs support);
  • Drag&Drop in the Group and Layer Explorer (reordering and changing the nesting level);
  • Undo/Redo for a number of important functions with the history of changes (editing layers, editing parameters, etc.);
  • Full-featured map navigator in the form of a thumbnail with a view box;
  • New animation editor with timer and slider, based on Keyframe-Drag&Drop and giving more control over animation;
  • Working in both windowed and full-screen modes;
  • A more responsive interface that resembles the original in structure;
  • Saving map images;
  • Support for dark and light themes;
  • Many other smaller improvements.

A bit of information
Also at the moment, editing and creating maps is only possible for vanilla mods.
This was my main goal in order to publish the project. Realizing that there is not much point in an editor for vanilla mods, so I tried to design a code structure that would be easier to use to extend the program.

The plan is to add DDNet functionality. It seems there are more active players and mappers there. I myself played mostly on some of the first versions of DDRace about 10 years ago. I know and love DDrace.
By the way, did anyone notice anything strange about the editor logo? :D :roll:

Documentation
No documentation on the program yet, but I think I'll write something soon. Those who have already used the standard editor shouldn't have any trouble with the interface. In addition, the program menu (Help) has a Shortcut Reference. It can also help to navigate, because some combinations and actions may be different from the standard ones.

Screenshots of the announcement
SpoilerShow
ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
Tech stack comparing
SpoilerShow
Original game clientTeeditor
LanguageC++C#, C++/CX
Graphics APIOpenGL (SDL 2.0)DirectX 11 (Win2D, DirectXTK)
PlatformGameUWP
Compatibility
The editor is only compatible with the Windows 10/11 operating system with a minimum version 17763.0.

Version
Current public version: v1.0.0.0-beta.

What do I expect?
  • I would like to get any feedback from users, bug reports. I plan to develop the project in the near future for sure, as this is my only and first open-source project.
  • Maybe someone else would like to participate in the project as well. This is also welcome.
  • I hope someone here will be interested to have a look at my code. I would also welcome any suggestions, help, ideas.
    I also have a number of ideas, like collaborative editing, but I'll post more about that soon on the project page on GitHub.

Source code
You can find the source code on GitHub.
Image

Binaries
You can install the program from the Microsoft Store.
Image



UPDATE (24.02.22 19:00):

According to the statistics in the Microsoft Store, there are currently 12 users who have installed the program. In addition, we can already see the presence of crashes, freezes and memory shortages.
Unfortunately, I don't have anything other than numbers yet.

So I would like to ask the guys who are interested and try the editor in any form to write me what behavior they expected when they did something and what happened after that (freeze, shut down, etc.).
To everyone who responds, a separate big plus in karma!


The email address is in my profile, as well as Discord.
Thanks guys! ^^

Re: Teeditor (a new standalone map editor)

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2022 3:32 pm
by headshot2018
Teepop logo :O

Re: Teeditor (a new standalone map editor)

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2022 3:46 pm
by r2d2!~
headshot2018 wrote: Thu Feb 24, 2022 3:32 pm Teepop logo :O
Accurate, as well as a headshot :lol:

Teeditor Report (Issues | Feedback)

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2022 7:19 pm
by Cellegen
Bugs:
-Using middle scroll button to nagivate around the map with the camera, at the same time using upscroll or downscroll while navigating, it makes the nagivation a lot harder. Not sure if it's intended this way to use both of the actions at the same time.
-Having a line of Tiles or Entities erased is not as simple as dragging 1 empty tile onto iit, because it doesn't update the Tiles correctly according to the position of the mouse, skipping some of the Tiles and ruining the experiene of deleting Tiles using empty Tiles.
-In Properties, you cannot Enter your value change on any

Features to be added:
-Toggleable option for Grid placing (Auto / Manual) | There was no instruction on how to use the Grid, but later found out that while using CTRL, you can snap the selected dots on Quads onto the grid points. People expect it to be automatically snapped to the grid points, when using Quad dots, so I recommend adding a feature like this to make editing Quads a little easier.

So far so good by the way! Keep up with this developement!

Re: Teeditor (a new standalone map editor)

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2022 9:28 pm
by TheWelshi
Crying in mac :(

Re: Teeditor Report (Issues | Feedback)

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2022 12:16 pm
by r2d2!~
Cellegen wrote: Thu Feb 24, 2022 7:19 pm Bugs:
-Using middle scroll button to nagivate around the map with the camera, at the same time using upscroll or downscroll while navigating, it makes the nagivation a lot harder. Not sure if it's intended this way to use both of the actions at the same time.
-Having a line of Tiles or Entities erased is not as simple as dragging 1 empty tile onto iit, because it doesn't update the Tiles correctly according to the position of the mouse, skipping some of the Tiles and ruining the experiene of deleting Tiles using empty Tiles.
-In Properties, you cannot Enter your value change on any

Features to be added:
-Toggleable option for Grid placing (Auto / Manual) | There was no instruction on how to use the Grid, but later found out that while using CTRL, you can snap the selected dots on Quads onto the grid points. People expect it to be automatically snapped to the grid points, when using Quad dots, so I recommend adding a feature like this to make editing Quads a little easier.

So far so good by the way! Keep up with this developement!
Answers in the same order:

Bugs:
  • About the navigation - I agree. It didn't occur to me to test it, because it seems so inconvenient to hold the middle button and spin the wheel at the same time :D I'll fix it in the next release.
  • Are these lines while drawing (as well as empty tiles) in question? Gif in spoiler.
    I'll see how this experience can be improved.
    SpoilerShow
    Image
  • Do you mean change the value to blank? I'm not quite sure what you mean. Can you please explain it to me? :roll:
Features to be added:
About attaching the points of the quads to the grid - I agree. It was overlooked. I'll add it in the next release.

Thx for your help! ^^

Re: Teeditor Report (Issues | Feedback)

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2022 3:45 pm
by Cellegen
r2d2!~ wrote: Fri Feb 25, 2022 12:16 pm Bugs:
  • Are these lines while drawing (as well as empty tiles) in question? Gif in spoiler.
    I'll see how this experience can be improved.
    SpoilerShow
    Image
  • Do you mean change the value to blank? I'm not quite sure what you mean. Can you please explain it to me? :roll:
In order:
  • The Spoiler image is basically what I had in mind, that it doesn't update on every block with the selection of Tiles, so yes you got this problem correct.
  • About this one: "-In Properties, you cannot Enter your value change on any..." I haven't finished this sentence yet and I apologise for that. What I meant by this is: "-In Properties, changing any value in the Variable boxes cannot be updated with Enter or Escape, but rather only by clicking out of the box." Hopefully you got this problem right too, most of the time you wish to just press Enter or Escape to set new values in.
    And also honorable mention: You should add a "default value" Button for each Intiger / Float value boxes, so that you don't have to type or guess the default value of any Variable box.

Re: Teeditor Report (Issues | Feedback)

Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2022 8:25 pm
by r2d2!~
Cellegen wrote: Fri Feb 25, 2022 3:45 pm
r2d2!~ wrote: Fri Feb 25, 2022 12:16 pm Bugs:
  • Are these lines while drawing (as well as empty tiles) in question? Gif in spoiler.
    I'll see how this experience can be improved.
    SpoilerShow
    Image
  • Do you mean change the value to blank? I'm not quite sure what you mean. Can you please explain it to me? :roll:
In order:
  • The Spoiler image is basically what I had in mind, that it doesn't update on every block with the selection of Tiles, so yes you got this problem correct.
  • About this one: "-In Properties, you cannot Enter your value change on any..." I haven't finished this sentence yet and I apologise for that. What I meant by this is: "-In Properties, changing any value in the Variable boxes cannot be updated with Enter or Escape, but rather only by clicking out of the box." Hopefully you got this problem right too, most of the time you wish to just press Enter or Escape to set new values in.
    And also honorable mention: You should add a "default value" Button for each Intiger / Float value boxes, so that you don't have to type or guess the default value of any Variable box.
Thanks again! Now I get it :ugeek: